Sugar Free Christmas….?

Chocolate Mousse8

So it hasn’t been as hard as I thought.  I’m in week 7 at the moment (so badly timed for Christmas!) but I really haven’t felt like I’ve missed out.  I have made ‘sweet’ treats to get me through and chamomile tea has become a savior!    Of course I have had moments where I’ve craved a treat, especially at 3.30pm, but have had to separate needing a treat and it being something sweet in my head.  Avocado on a rice cracker, a spoon of peanut butter, raw almonds, a chai tea, sparkling water…anything but sugar or (worse) fake sugar.

Tomorrow is going to be interesting – but as always preparation is the key.  We are having a traditional Aussie Christmas – salads and meats on the BBQ with family…and then deserts.  I will be making something for desert that is sugar free to ensure I don’t fall at the last hurdle!

My latest favorite treat is Chocolate Mouse – and it is so easy!  Even if you are not a cook – try it, super quick and really tasty – promise!

 Chocolate Mousse

Get Buying!

400ml can of coconut cream
1/2 cup raw cacao powder
1/4 cup of rice malt syrup
1/4 cup of chia seeds

Whisk all the ingredients in a large bowl until smooth.  Pour into 4-6 glasses and chill in the fridge for 3 hours – enjoy!

Research the internet to find where you can buy these things and get going!  Make one small change until it becomes habit or normal routine – then change another thing.  

Next week is the last week of the ‘I Quit Sugar’ plan.  (Maybe check it out for the new year to see the health benefits yourself?) I won’t go back to eating sugar, but will introduce some fruits back into my diet and keep sugar to lower than 5g per 100g in everything I eat.  I’ve lost weight, seen my skin improve, it is easier to get out of bed in the mornings (hoorah!) and I’ve had fewer headaches.  My ‘I Quit Sugar’ friend at work used to suffer from excruciating acid reflux and this cleared up pretty much as soon as she started the plan with me – years of tablets from the doctor hasn’t had the effect that quitting sugar has had on her health!

Have a wonderful Christmas and enjoy the break – don’t eat yourselves sick, allow yourself a treat or two and make 2014 your healthiest yet.

Jo xx

 

 

Talk to me! Leave a reply here....